OWLS COMPETE IN NAIA (Table 2.3.1)

The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) currently administers intercollegiate programs for 333 colleges and universities of moderate enrollment. The purpose of the NAIA is to promote the education and development of students through intercollegiate athletic participation. Member institutions, although varied and diverse, share a common commitment to high standards and the principle that athletics serve as an integral part of education.

Established in 1940 as the National Association of Intercollegiate Basketball, the NAIB evolved from a "National Small College Basketball Tournament" in 1937. The NAIB was renamed the NAIA in 1952 and is currently headquartered in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

NAIA schools are split into Division I and Division II based on the amount of financial aid available from the member institutions to their student athletes. Division II, of which Oregon Institute of Technology is a member, offers the equivalent of six full scholarships, while Division I schools offer 11 scholarships.

The NAIA divides the United States and British Columbia into 27 conference entities of various proportions for qualifying into their national tournaments. They currently organize and conduct 23 national championships, 12 for men and 11 for women in 13 different sports.

OIT is a member of the Cascade Collegiate Conference with Eastern and Southern Oregon Universities; Cascade College, Concordia University, Warner Pacific College, and Western Baptist College in Oregon. Other conference members include Albertson College (Idaho) and Evergreen State and Northwest College (Washington).

OIT competes in cross-country, track and field and basketball (men and women), baseball (men), softball, soccer and volleyball (women).

SOURCE: OIT Athletics, Recreation and Fitness Center