## FACULTY SENATE MINUTES June 3, 2014 Organizational Meeting

President Dan Peterson called the meeting to order at 7:56 p.m. All senators or alternates were present except Tim Thompson, Sean St. Clair and Bill Proebstel. Newly elected senators were welcomed and retiring senators were thanked for their service.

The proposed slate for next year's Senate Executive Committee was presented (slate 1):

- President Robyn Cole
- Vice President Terri Torres
- Secretary Matt Beekman
- SenEx member David Thaemert
- SenEx member Dan Peterson

Hugh Jarrard read a petition signed by 18 faculty members at the Wilsonville campus: We, the undersigned Oregon Tech faculty, favor the establishment of a designated Wilsonville member atlarge on the SenEx committee that will be discussed at the Senate meeting of June 3, 2014. We furthermore fully back the presentation of a nominee for that position at said Senate meeting.

Dan asked that the petition be forwarded to SenEx for consideration in adding a Wilsonville representative. A change of this type would require a change to the Senate Bylaws.

Nomination and second for Slobodan Petrovic to run as a candidate for Secretary to the SenEx committee. Nomination second was withdrawn and then reissued.

Discussion regarding the election process, Senate Bylaws, and size of the SenEx Committee.

Motion and second to expand the SenEx Committee to six members; two of which will be cosecretaries for 2014-15. Motion failed. Opposed – 10. Abstentions – 2.

A proposed alternative slate was presented (slate 2):

- President Robyn Cole
- Vice President Terri Torres
- Secretary Slobodan Petrovic
- SenEx member David Thaemert
- SenEx member Dan Peterson

Senate members voted on slate 1 or slate 2. The majority voted for slate 1.

Respectfully submitted,

Robyn Cole, Secretary

/dw